Article

What should I know about closed groups in the Fitbit Community?

« Go Back

Information

 
Article Text
Create or join a closed group in the Fitbit community to share tips and information. Closed groups are currently available in the Fitbit app on iPhones, iPads, and Android phones. 

For information on how to post, report content, message friends, and block users, see What is the Fitbit Community?

Skip to:

How do I create a Fitbit community closed group?

To create a closed group:
  1. Tap the Community tab User-added image.
  2. Tap Groups at the top.
  3. Tap Create a Group.
  4. Tap Get Started.

How do I add members to a Fitbit community closed group?

Add up to 2,000 Fitbit community members to a closed group. For information on adding friends, see How do I connect with friends on Fitbit?

To invite a friend to a closed group:
  1. Tap the Community tab User-added image > Groups.
  2. Find the group you want, then tap it.
  3. Tap the Add User icon  next to the list of members.
  4. Select the friends you want to invite, then tap Send.

How do I join a Fitbit community closed group?

To join a Fitbit community closed group, a current member of the group must invite you. 

To accept a closed group invitation:
  1. Tap the Today tab User-added image, then tap the inbox icon in the top right User-added image.
  2. Tap the invitation > Accept.

How do I add or remove an administrator in a Fitbit community closed group?

To be an administrator of a Fitbit community closed group, you must either be the creator of the group or a current admin must give you admin permissions.

To give a member admin permissions:
  1. From the closed group’s main page, tap the list of members.
  2. Find the member you want to make an admin.
  • iPhones and iPads: Swipe left on the member’s name > Admin > Yes.
  • Android phones: Press and hold the member’s name > Make Admin > Yes.

To remove a member’s admin permissions:
  1. From the closed group’s main page, tap the list of members.
  2. Find the member you want to remove as an admin. 
  • iPhones and iPads: Swipe left on the member’s name > Revoke > Remove.
  • Android phones: Press and hold the member’s name > Remove as Admin > Remove.
Note that you can only remove admin permissions from a member if they became an admin after you.

What can I do as an admin in a Fitbit community closed group?

Admins of Fitbit community closed groups are responsible for moderating the group’s activity. Admins can edit the group’s details, delete inappropriate content, add or remove members, and delete the group if they are the only member.

How do I leave a Fitbit community closed group?

To leave a closed group:
  1. From the closed group’s main page, tap the 3 dots at the top.
  2. Tap Leave Group.
To join the closed group again, a current member must invite you. 

How do I remove members from a Fitbit community closed group?

Admins can remove members from a Fitbit community closed group. 

To remove a member:
  1. From the closed group’s main page, tap the list of members.
  2. Find the member you want to remove: 
  • iPhones and iPads: Swipe left on the member’s name > Remove Member
  • Android phones: Press and hold the member’s name > Remove Member

How do I delete a post or comment in a Fitbit community closed group?

Admins can delete posts and comments from Fitbit community closed groups.

To delete a post, tap the three dots at the top of the post:
  • iPhones and iPads: Tap Delete.
  • Android phones: Tap Delete.

To delete a comment, find the comment on the post:
  • iPhones and iPads: Swipe left on the comment > Delete.
  • Android phones: Press and hold the comment > Delete.

How do I delete a Fitbit community closed group?

Admins can delete Fitbit community closed groups after all other members leave the group. You can’t recover a deleted closed group. 

To delete a closed group:
  1. From the closed group’s main page, tap the 3 dots at the top of the screen.
  2. Tap Leave and Delete Group.
  3. Read the message, then tap Delete.

Who can I message in a Fitbit community closed group?

Group members can send private messages to other members who are their Fitbit friends. Admins can send private messages to all members of a closed group. For instructions on how to send private messages, see What is the Fitbit Community?

Who can see my Fitbit community closed group?

Only members can see the contents of a Fitbit community closed group. Invited users can see a preview of the group, but must accept an invitation to see the full contents of the closed group.

Fitbit community closed groups are only visible to invited users or former members in the Discover More Groups section of the Fitbit app.

Why can't I see a leaderboard in my Fitbit community closed group?

Leaderboards are available for groups with fewer than 2,000 members. To see your rank on a group leaderboard, make sure your step count is visible to everyone. 

To adjust who can see your step count, tap See your rank from the closed group and go to your profile to adjust your privacy settings. For more information, see How do I manage my Fitbit profile? 
Last updated: June 11, 2019
I found this article helpful I found this article helpful

I did not find this article helpful I did not find this article helpful

Fitbit Research Studies

Have questions or need more information about the Fitbit Heart Study?


LEARN MORE

Find strength in numbers

Expert advice to the latest news. It’s all here.

Let's talk

Get Support