Update, Restart, and Erase

Some troubleshooting steps may require you to restart your tracker, while erasing it is useful if you want to give Charge 5 to another person. Update your tracker to receive the latest firmware.

Update Charge 5

Update your tracker to get the latest feature enhancements and product updates.

When an update is available, a notification appears in the Fitbit app. After you start the update, follow the progress bars on Charge 5 and in the Fitbit app until the update is complete. Keep your tracker and phone close to each other during the update.

To update Charge 5, your tracker's battery must be at least 20% charged. Updating Charge 5 may be demanding on the battery. We recommend plugging your tracker into the charger before starting an update.

For more information, see the related help article.

Restart Charge 5

If you can’t sync Charge 5 or you have trouble with tracking your stats or receiving notifications, restart your tracker from your wrist:

  1. Swipe down from the clock screen to find the Settings app .
  2. Open the Settings app then Restart Devicethen Restart.

If Charge 5 is unresponsive: 

  1. Connect Charge 5 to the charging cable. For instructions, see Charge your tracker .
  2. Press the button located on the flat end of the charger 3 times, pausing for 1 second between presses. Then wait 10 seconds or until the Fitbit logo appears.
  3. Charger with text indicating you should press the button 3 times

Restarting your tracker doesn't delete any data.

Erase Charge 5

If you want to give Charge 5 to another person or wish to return it, first clear your personal data:

  1. Swipe down from the clock screen to find the Settings app .
  2. Open the Settings app then Device Infothen Clear User Data.
  3. Swipe up, then press Hold 3 Sec for 3 seconds and release.
  4. When you see the Fitbit logo and Charge 5 vibrates, your data is erased.